Get social....
Keep updated on latest news and events.

Visit our FaceBook page Follow us on Twitter

Poetry Results 2016

After weeks of deliberation over what has been a bumper load of entries we are pleased to be able to publish our list of winners.

  Title Author  
1st Grey Lesley Saunders
2nd The Properties of Silk Susan Utting
3rd In the Hospice Leah Armstead
Hilly Cansdale Mr Cowper's Hares Deborah Harvey

Susan Utting also won The People's Prize with 'The Properties of Silk'

The remaining shortlisted entries - in alphabetical order were:

Title Author
A Coming Robin Kidson
Corn Cockles Stephen Boyce
Cracks Corrinna Toop
Easter Rising 2016 Christine Macfarlane
How Spring Came Stephen Boyce
In which his ten-year-old granddaughter surveys... Roger Elkin
Knitting Keith Chandler
La Muerte Fiona Jack
Moment Isobel Thrilling
Park Bridge, Sunday Evening, Shropshire Union Maggie Norton
Picking Coal Andrew Miller
Rope Shirley Anne Cook
Squirrel Kate Taylor
That Summer Sharon Black
The Amaryllis Charlie Evans
The Artist's Studio Stephen Carroll
The Bridesmaids of Passchendaele Glen Wilson
The English Umbrella Bob Cooper
The Ferryman Judy Drazin
The Friendly Giant Christopher Somerville
The Mothers Elizabeth Rowe
The Walking Sharon Black
Time to do What has to be Done before Time... Joe Cushman
Upon the green hill Andrew Miller
Wind on Camber Sands Andrew Miller
What does the Festival do?
The aim of the Festival is to promote books and the love of reading in the community and particularly in schools...
Wells Festival of Literature Ltd A company limited by guarantee registered in England with number 2827744 Registered address: Tregantle, Milton Lane, Wells, Somerset. BA5 2QT Registered Charity number 1045654.